About Us

The Citizens Bank has proudly been serving our communities for over 95 years!

Letter From the President

Bob - Black ShirtI want to personally welcome you to The Citizens Bank. On behalf of our Board of Directors, Officers, and Employees we are delighted that you have visited our website. We are committed to being the leading, locally-owned financial institution in our service area. Taking a line from our mission statement, our goal has always and will always be to lead the area in competitive rates and innovative products.

If you are not yet a customer, we invite you to come on in to one of our conveniently located offices and join our team. We know you will find out that we are Committed to You, our customer. We will do everything we can to provide convenience, service, and efficiency in working with you and your family. If you are already one of our loyal customers, we want to thank you again: for your continued loyalty and business, and we look forward to continuing to provide our award-winning service to you. As voted by our regional newspaper readers we are the most community involved business in Morehead, and we will continue to work hard to keep that title.

Come on in and find out what thousands of other customers already know.... we are Committed to Community! Committed to You!

History of the Citizens Bank

History Bank Building

The Citizens Bank of Morehead, Kentucky was organized September 25, 1928; original organizers being H. Vanantwerp, E. E. Maggard, C. E. Dillon, Squire Hogge and Frank Havens.

The Citizens Bank was opened for business on Railroad Street, now First Street; across from the old C&O Train Depot.

In 1939 the bank moved its office to Main Street (across from current Main St location)

The Main Street office in Morehead was built in 1961.

May 1979 opened Carroll B. Daugherty Branch in Trademore Shopping Center, Morehead--now called the Kroger Center.

In 1991 The Citizens Bank expanded our Main Street office building.

The Alpha M. Hutchinson Banking Center opened in the heart of Morgan County, West Liberty, Kentucky in 2002.

In 2003, The Citizens Bank entered a new market with the opening of our Farmers Banking Center in Bath County, Owingsville, Kentucky.

The Citizens Bank, in December of 2006, broadened its scope in the Bath Count market by acquiring two NEW offices; one new office in Owingsville near the Interstate, and another office in downtown Sharpsburg. This expansion gave The Citizens Bank three banking centers in Bath County.

The bank has had five Presidents during the past seventy-nine years; the first President being Dr. Thomas Asa Edward Evans, second; Carroll Browning Daugherty - 1937; third; Glenn W. Lane - 1960; fourth; Alpha M. Hutchinson - 1970; and our present fifth President, Robert D. Neff, since January, 1989. Mr. Hutchinson retained title of "Chairman of the Board" up until his death in January 2002.

Currently, Robert D. Neff is our President/CEO and Susan J. Neff is our Chairman of the Board.

Open Account Include

Quicklinks Include

Selector Include

Go to Top